Jennifer Laycock

Jennifer Laycock

Articles



Google AdWords customers likely already realize that Google looks at several factors in order to determine where an ad ranks or what an advertiser pays for their position. Currently, Google looks at things like ad relevancy, landing page quality and your click thru rate in order to decide how much your ad will cost you. In the next week or so, they'll be shifting things around a little bit, taking your maximum CPC bid into consideration as well. Search Engine Land's Barry Schwartz lays it all out.

Barry writes:

Google uses a quality score plus CPC model to rank all their ads. In the past, to achieve a top slotted ad position, you would need to meet a certain overall threshold in both quality and CPC price. Google, as stated above, is changing that algorithm to be more sensitive of the quality component, while also adjusting the figure used to determine your CPC. Now, Google uses the "actual" CPC, but in the upcoming weeks Google will use the "maximum" CPC.

What is the difference between actual CPC and maximum CPC? Every advertiser has to set a maximum CPC for their keywords. But an advertiser won't necessarily pay the maximum CPC price when their ad is clicked on. In fact, most of the time advertisers won't pay that amount. Instead, they will pay an actual CPC, which is lower than their maximum CPC.

For example, say I have an ad with a maximum CPC of $0.50, but there are no competitors in my keyword ad space. In that case, I will probably pay an actual CPC of $0.05 and not the $0.50, since I'm not competing against anyone.

In the past, Google used the actual CPC in the ranking algorithm for the top ad position. In the future, Google will be using that maximum CPC. As you can see, this gives advertiser more control on achieving that top ad position. Back to our example above. This advertiser who has been noticing a $0.05 actual CPC, will now be credited for his maximum CPC of $0.50 and will thus have an easier chance at obtaining the top ad spot.

Just to note, Google tells Barry they'll still be weighing relevancy more strongly than cost per click. He also points out that Google will consider your maximum CPC, but will still only charge you for the actual CPC warranted by your ad placement and their algorithm.

It remains to be seen exactly how this will impact the way advertisers run their campaigns, if you've set your max CPC to be as low as possible due to your targeted CPC rather than the CPC you can actually afford, you may want to adjust some of your bids.






About the Author

Jennifer Laycock is the Editor of Search Engine Guide, an educational web site aimed at translating the search marketing world into something that small business owners can understand. Jennifer specializes in common sense search engine marketing, viral marketing and customer outreach via social media and blogs. A former search marketing consultant and in-house trainer, Jennifer’s clients have included companies like Verizon, American Greetings and Highlights for Children. Her primary clients now are a little girl named Elnora and a little boy named Emmitt.

Jennifer Laycock is the Editor of Search Engine Guide, an educational web site aimed at translating the search marketing world into something that small business owners can understand. Jennifer specializes in common sense search engine marketing, viral marketing and customer outreach via social media and blogs. A former search marketing consultant and in-house trainer, Jennifer’s clients have included companies like Verizon, American Greetings and Highlights for Children. Her primary clients now are a little girl named Elnora and a little boy named Emmitt.